Zimbabwe to host 2023 ODI World Cup qualifiers

Zimbabwe has been elected to host the qualifiers of the 2023 ODI World Cup between June 18 and July 9, according to a revised scheduled announced by the ICC due to the postponements caused by the COVID-19 pandemic.

India, the hosts of the 2023 ODI World Cup, along with seven other top Super League teams will qualify directly for the tournament to be held in October-November.

The bottom five teams from the Super League will then compete in the 2023 World Cup qualifier, joining the best three teams from League 2.

In a statement, the ICC explained the qualification process thus:

“After the 21 tri-series in League 2 have been completed, the top three teams will confirm their place in the ICC Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2023. The bottom four teams will drop into the Men’s Cricket World Cup Qualifier Play-Off 2023 – which is a repechage event to the Global Qualifier – and will be joined by the winner of Challenge League A and B.

The top two teams from the Play-Off – which has also been rescheduled to 2023 – will keep their hopes alive of participating in India 2023, by qualifying for the Cricket World Cup Qualifier 2023.”

Zimbabwe co-hosted the 2003 cricket world cup with South Africa and Kenya. It was the first world cup to be hosted in Africa.

Cricket World Cup
ICC World Cup

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button

Adblock Detected

Please turn off your adblocker to view our content as our site is ad-supported